Vancouver part two

I woke up this morning with a sore head. Not because of alcohol, but because I basically had to sleep in the middle of a disco. I am not impressed. Everything seemed great up till that point. Well that is apart from the curtains that weren’t hung right.

So anyway I left the hotel at checkout time (I really like to get my moneys worth) and went down the road to get some breakfast. It was so good. I had scrambled egg, these mad hash brown things (not made like at home), crispy bacon and an English muffin with a refreshing glass of orange juice.

So the day was off to a good start. I then went to get one of those open-top bus tours. I have never done this before but I actually enjoyed it. I saw a lot of the town. Granted, it wasn’t in detail but it was still nice to see what I saw.

I also made friends with Aussie on the bus. He was an Australian obviously and the two of us kept each other company throughout the day. He was not dating material of course. He had these mad boxers on that I saw when his trousers came down a bit. Basically it was a skin colour piece of elastic, and I couldn’t see anything else. I don’t know what had happened to the fabric but it was very strange.

Anyway I just realised I was googling “boxers elastic no fabric” in images on a busy train. Oops. You have to love the free wifi on Amtrak trains.

So anyway I loved Vancouver. I really enjoyed my time there. I think it might have had something to do with having the company of Aussie and maybe also the fact that I was really really lucky with the weather.

For the first time, I went to a city with no preconceptions, no map, no guide book. And I really enjoyed it. I saw everything that I wanted to… not that I wanted to see much because I didn’t know what was there!

Probably the highlight of my day was the Chinese Garden in the china town district. It was so pretty and tranquil.

I really liked the diversity of people. I have come to the conclusion that I know what the problem is with Seattle. 1 in 4 people work for Microsoft. That is a scary number and it just goes to show the type of people the town attracts. Of course the only industry is not Microsoft but some of the other main industries are also in computing.

I am going to try to get L to come back to Vancouver with me. She already has been but I think it would be a cool thing to do.

Leave a comment